Welcome to Combs Ford Primary School

Our Curriculum

Curriculum Content

At Combs Ford Primary we often plan and teach our curriculum in 'phases' rather than separate year groups:

  • Reception   - known as the Early Years Phase
  • Years 1 & 2 - known as the Key Stage One Phase
  • Years 3 & 4 - known as the Lower Key Stage Two Phase
  • Years 5 & 6 - known as the Upper Key Stage Two Phase

We use a topic based approach to planning our curriculum, although some areas are taught discretely, when this seems more appropriate.

If you would like detailed information, please visit the page for each individual year group, as you will find lots of information, including the particular topics they cover, information on how they organise things in that specific year group and lots more. For Years 1 & 2 this will include information upon the way we teach phonics and reading.


Curriculum Coverage Maps

Below we have attached our Coverage Maps - these show how we have planned to cover all elements of the National Curriculum through the topics we have chosen. These 'maps' show the topic titles at the top of the page and the intended coverage below.

Key Stage One
Topic Map
Lower Key Stage Two 
Topic Map
Upper Key Stage Two 
Topic Map

KS1 Topic Map.pdf

KS1 Science Map.pdf

LKS2 Topic Map.pdf

LKS2 Science Map.pdf

UKS2 Topic Map.pdf

UKS2 Science Map.pdf


Please note that these curriculum maps are an indication of our intended coverage - we are constantly revising and updating our plans order to incorporate new ideas. Therefore, the maps shown here may not reflect exactly what your child is being taught, although any differences ought to be slight. We do try to update these on the website when significant changes have been made.


If there is anything you would like to know about our curriculum that you can not find either on this page or one of the individual year group pages, please contact the Headteacher Mr Clark (see Contact Us page) and he will be happy to help!